The Finniss name honours Boyle Travers Finniss (1807-1893) who emigrated to South Australia in 1836 as one of Colonel Light’s surveyors. At various times he occupied the positions of Deputy Surveyor-General, Police Commissioner, Legislative Councillor, Colonial Secretary and in 1856 was chosen as the first Premier and Chief Secretary of the Province. He surveyed southern Fleurieu Peninsula and other areas. (A map of the Finniss area is in the Maps section of this website.)

MICHAEL PENGILLY (Member for Finniss)
Finniss Electorate Office, 71 Victoria Street,
Phone: 8552 2152; Fax: 8552 4710
Email: finniss@parliament.sa.gov.au



The Heysen Electorate is named after Sir Hans Heysen (1877 – 1968) the well-known Australian artist. Hans Heysen is particularly recognised for his watercolours of the Australian bush. Born in Hamburg, Germany, he migrated to Adelaide with his family in 1884. As a young boy Heysen showed an early interest in art. At 14 he left school to work with a hardware merchant, later studying art during nights at Art School in his spare time. In 1912 he purchased a property near Hahndorf, which remained his home until his death in 1968 aged 90. The Heysen Trail is also named after him.

ISOBEL REDMOND (Member for Heysen)
14 Druids Ave, STIRLING, SA 5152
Phone: 8339 5077; Fax: 8339 6817
Email: heysen@parliament.sa.gov.au